Boom Music

BOOM MUSIC – Show #27 (Hosted by Colectivo Futuro)


Whilst always looking ahead for new music, we had to revisit 2016 just one more time, to compile as many of our favourites as possible into one show, albeit slightly longer than usual.

Among our favourites, you can find artists such as Hector Plimmer, Vibration Black Finger and Moses Boyd, from whom we expect even greater things in 2017, overlooked gems from Jah Wobble & The Invaders of the Heart and Nilamayé and just a sample of the many collaborations in which saxophonist King Shabaka participated this year, namely Anthony Joseph and Yussef Kamaal’s recent full lengths.


Shabaka & The Ancestors – Joyous [Brownswood Recordings]
Carlos Niño – Alice’s Chord [Leaving Records]
Josef Leimberg – Interstellar Universe [World Galaxy Records]
Eric Lau – YNWJP [First Word Records]
Black Milk & Nat Turner – The Knock [Computer Ugly]
Nu Guinea – Open Paths [Comet Records, Early Sounds Recordings]
Uffe – Jump Into [Tartelet]
Anthony Nicholson – We’ll Survive [deepArtSounds]
Byron The Aquarius – Moments in Life [Wild Oats]
Jino, Ohno, Mitchell, Mills – Eventide [Axis]
Gary Gritness – Preachin’ Some Tight Game [Hypercolour]
Golden Teacher – Divine [Sounds of the Universe]
Livy Ekemezie – Holiday Action [Soundway]
Moses Boyd – Rye Lane Shuffle [Exodus Records]
Family Atlantica – Okoroba [Soundway]
Anthony Joseph – Jimmy Upon That Bridge [Heavenly Sweetness]
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids – We Be All Africans [Strut]
Vibration Black Finger – In Rhythm [Enid Records]
Dexter Story – Eastern Prayer ft. Nia Andrews [Soundway]
Hector Plimmer – Kalimba [Albert’s Favourites]
Nilamayé – Regresa Pues [Bongo Joe]
Sputnik – Mumakata [Edits From]
Mugwisa International Xylophone Group- Jinja Pearls (Sam Jones Construct) [On The Corner Records]
Steven Julien – Chantel [Apron Records]
Jordan Rakei – Talk To Me [Soul Has No Tempo]
Solange – Borderline (An Ode To Self Care) Ft. Q-Tip [Columbia]
Ivan Ave – I Do [Jakarta Records]
Oddisee – Silver Lining [Mello Music Group]
Jeff Parker – Here Comes Ezra [International Anthem Recording Company]
BadBadNotGood – Hyssop Of Love (feat. Mick Jenkins) [Innovative Leisure Records]
Yussef Kamaal – Wing Tai Drums [Brownswood Recordings]
Jah Wobble & The Invaders of the Heart – Cosmic Love [Jah Wobble Records]


Colectivo Futuro

Colectivo Futuro