Future Classics

Ezra Collective “Juan Pablo: The Philosopher”


via Twistedsoul: Ezra Collective return with their vibrant fusion of sounds on “Juan Pablo: The Philosopher”.

Consisting of Joe Armon-Jones, (piano), TJ Koleoso (bass), Femi Koleoso (drums), James Mollison (saxophone), Dylan Jones (trumpet) and boosted by Nubya Garcia and Theon Cross the band blaze through their five new compositions and one stellar cover.

The upbeat ‘Juan Pablo’ opens proceedings in style, and with all the power and enthusiasm we’ve come to expect from the band. The pulsating second track ‘The Philosopher’ has a real sense of urgency while Dylan’s Dilemma’ sees them dropping the tempo with some spiritual, soulful grooves. With ‘People in Trouble’ the collective effortlessly showcase their range of skills letting loose a lot of energy be it from Koleoso’s thumping drums, Jones’ drifting trumpet or Armon-Jones elegant flowing keys the fearless adventurers take flight.

Next, we arrive at ‘James Speaks To The Galaxy’ a brief encounter in which Mollison hypnotically enchants with his tenor saxophone. Rounding off with their sublime version of Sun Ra’s classic, ‘Space Is The Place’ in which they bring an entirely new dimension to the music with their boundless energy. This EP is a varied and exciting project that rewards with repeat listens.

For more picks like this head to Twistedsoulmusic.org

“Juan Pablo: The Philosopher” released October 6, 2017

Purchase Album

MIMS Newsfeed

MIMS Newsfeed

The very best content from the web via trustworthy sources & some of our friends / partners around the globe. These are not our words.