Forgotten Treasures

Forgotten Treasure: Society of Seven “Summertime” (1973)


Hailing from Hawaii, Society of Seven was a group that put out a few slept-on records in the early 70’s. Available only on the “Simply Ourselves” LP (Silver Sword Audio), the cover version of George Gershwin’s classic “Summertime” is a killer both on the Jazz Dancefloor and Soul / Funk scenes.

I discovered the track a year ago in a mix from DJ Pharoah (from Nantes in France) and from the very first listen I was conquered and every one on the dancefloor agreed. A fantastic record which gets even better thanks to a pretty hillarious record cover, the seven band members in white suits with traditional hawaiian beads.”

Discogs Info

A1 Summer Symphony 3:20
A2 Song Sung Blue 4:00
A3 Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are) 3:57
A4 Summertime 3:09
A5 Lord’s Prayer / I Believe 4:25
B1 Welcome To My World 2:48
B2 Alone Again Naturally 3:52
B3 I Gotcha 2:29
B4 Akaka Falls 3:35
B5 Down By The Lazy River 3:31
B6 The Godfather 3:42

Arranged By – Ernie Freeman
Producer – Ernie Freeman

Recorded at ID Studios, Hollywood, Calif.


DJ Psycut

DJ Psycut

DJ PSYCUT was born in the suburb of Paris. As a music and vinyl addict, he created his own universe among following styles: Soul, Jazz, Funk, Independent Hip Hop, Nu Soul, Afro Beat, Samba Soul, Latin Groove, Deep House, Broken Beat, Wonky. Since September of 2012 he has been in Charge of the Soul, Funk, Jazz Funk and Boogie part of Paris' Page of the mighty