Future Classics

Future Classic: Theo Parrish “Ugly Edits” (2CD Compilation)

Disco House / Techno Soul & Funk

When I used to work at Inbeat Records a few years ago, these Theo Parrish “UGLY Edits” on those mysterious white labels would come in a leave the shop in about a day. In fact most of them probably never made it to the floor because owner Christian Pronovost would take a couple copies and then we would scramble to take the rest… and these UGLY Edit 12″ were probably the most expensive records in the store selling at around 20$.

Now Parrish has decided to let the rest of the world hear his versions of Jill Scott, Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes, Freddie Hubbard, Sylvester, Roger Troutman, Etta James and more someplace other than YouTube. The full selection of Ugly Edits in getting a CD release—presumably by Parrish himself since the tunes remain highly unlicensed. But at least that means high-quality digital versions of these intentionally low-fidelity classics will be available to everyone soon.

Brainstorm - Journey To The Light (Theo Parrish UGLY Edit) Jackie Beaver - Mr. Bump Man (Theo Parrish UGLY Edit)

1. Slowly Surely
2. Never Let U Go
3. Love I Lost
4. Yeah Yeah Yeah
5. Little Flower
6. Got A Match?
7. Get On Down
8. Stay Together
9. Get Up It’s Summer
10. Roger N Me
11. No Way Back
12. I Love You
13. Shave Mister
14. Party Going On
15. Yo Sexy Body
16. Slick
17. Never Seen A Tree



Montreal-based DJ and the founder MusicIsMySanctuary.com (2007) and 24 Hours of Vinyl (2011).