Guest Mixes

Guest Mix #18: ABJO (San Diego, US)


The explosion of the instrumental / abstract hip-hop beat movement since the mid-2000’s is still going strong but after a couple years of constant growth with a gazillion new beat-makers every month we are starting to see who are the artists that are in this for the long run and will outlive the status of simple flavour of the month. ABJO is definitely falls in the category of artists who are making something truly original. He has a sound of his own and doesn’t sound like a copy of a copy.

The young San Diego producer affiliated with Soulection & Potholes Music has been involved in the scene since 2007 with his first release dating back to 2010 but this is the year when he really became one of our favourite producers with tons of really strong projects. Definitely one of the guys that worthy of carrying the torch of that classic Cali sound and follow in the footsteps of vets like Dibiase, Flylo, Ras G and countless others.

We asked the dude to hit us with a mix of some of his current favourites and mixed with some of his own productions and a few exclusives too! 25 dope tracks in 45 minutes.

Linkage Abjo’s Soundcloud page
Subscribe to the MIMS Channel on Mixcloud
Download ABJO – MIMS Guest Mix #18

AbJo – Fire From Within
AbJo – SomeYouGet (SuperLowKeyBustaRhymesRemix)
AbJo – Oneiros (James Blake’s “Wilhelm Scream” Flip)
Jo Def – TookItThurr
Koen – 1043 (NANGDO Refix)
AbJo – ThrsLve (Q-Tip’s “Believe” Refix)
AbJo – Love/Pride (Sade Flip)
Jay-Z – Girls, Girls, Girls (CanUDiggit Remix)
Madlib – Soon New Day
AbJo – The Other Life (Badu Refix)
No Alias – Geminizer
ESTA – Dot$
Alina Baraz – Drift (AbJo Refix)
Overdoz. – Hiroshima
Disclosure – Voices (Wookie RMX)
Sasquatch – 25th (AbJo RMX)
Da-P – The Hamptons
Mibbs – FREEBASS (AbJo Remix)
Kaytranada – At All (Sango Remix)
LAKIM – Crushin’ You
Da-P – Groundplay (Schmoov Flip)
Overdoz. – F$WSAD (feat. Problem)
AbJo – Tomorrow’s World
Ele – Bounce (AbJo Remix)
AbJo – Portalss

Download Link


Montreal-based DJ and the founder (2007) and 24 Hours of Vinyl (2011).