Exclusive Premieres

Video Premiere: Astral Travel “You Are From This Planet”


Music is my Sanctuary is proud to premiere the video for Astral Travel’s “You Are From This Planet”, the lead single from their forthcoming album “If You Say You Are From This Planet, Why Do You Treat It Like You Do?”.

This exciting ensemble of improvisers is led by internationally in-demand drummer, producer and composer, Tommaso Cappellato, and features vocalist Dwight Trible, “the voice of spiritual jazz”, very much in the lineage of Leon Thomas and Andy Bey. The video was created by the talented Studio Tilly Mint, and features dancer Minou Nombreuse.

The album is set for release March 20th on Hyperjazz, a relatively new label launched last year and headed by Raffaele Constantino, aka DJ and critically applauded producer Khalab, in order to further break the barriers between the past and present, traditional jazz and new sounds.

Inspired by the poetry of Sun Ra inscribed within the pages of the book “This Planet Is Doomed”, the music and lyrics focus on the current consciousness of the planet, raising questions and issues of humanity’s collective spiritual direction.

The body of work contained in this album is the result of numerous live-in-studio improvisations, deconstructed in a meticulous post-production process by avant-garde electronic producer Rabih Beaini. Vocalists Dwight Trible and Camilla Battaglia sing and declaim the poems, which are enveloped in a spontaneous musical magma. Each piece is collectively created by Tommaso Cappellato on drums along with pianist Fabrizio Puglisi, reeds player Piero Bittolo Bon, who also contributes to the electronic soundscape, and double bassist Marco Privato.

The purpose of this work is to find questions and raise answers; challenging ourselves to visualize what is difficult to imagine and to deconstruct our set beliefs in exchange for something more all-encompassing. We hope this work will stimulate the listener’s mind, imagination and ears.

Buy Album

Musician Lineup

Dwight Trible (vocals)
Camilla Battaglia (vocals)
Fabrizio Puglisi (piano/synth)
Piero Bittolo Bon (alto sax/bass clarinet/flutes/electronics)
Marco Privato (double bass)
Tommaso Cappellato (drums)
produced by Rabih Beaini

MIMS Premieres

MIMS Premieres

Exclusive tracks from some of our favourite artists & labels.