Exclusive Premieres

Exclusive Premiere: The Reboot Joy Confession “Enjoy Solitude” (Nutriot Records)


We are excited to present the first taste from an outstanding compilation project from our friends at Nutriot out of beautiful Vienna, Austria. “For The Colleagues Of Ubu & Their Authorities” is the brainchild of Vienna based vinyl enthusiast, DJ & producer The Reboot Joy Confession.

As composer, producer and sound artist, The Reboot Joy Confession operates at the boundaries of electronic and experimental acoustic music. Collaborations with musicians Soulphiction, Bruno Morais, Dwight Trible, Stephane Perrinjaquet or Anya Stuart brought him around the world, from São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro to London, Berlin, Lausanne, or Prague. On his DJ mixes he seeks out the unusual and the obscure, playing everything from leftfield hip-hop, progressive rock, Brazilian music, jazz or techno. His love for diversity reflects in his own productions, which have been released on Philpot, Affine Records, and Nice Try.

Track Credits for “Enjoy Solitude”

written & produced by RJC
string arrangement: Flip Philipp
violin: Christian Daniel Nenescu
violoncello: Peter Hudler
drums: Gurlimu
all other instruments: RJC

mixed by Gurlimu
mastered by Helmut Erler at Dubplates & Mastering Berlin

Check out a teaser trailer for the Compilation release

Pre-Order Compilation

Compilation Information

“For The Colleagues Of Ubu & Their Authorities” is the brainchild of Vienna based vinyl enthusiast, DJ & producer The Reboot Joy Confession. What once started as a series of mixes has been expanded into this compilation, on which he brings together diverse genres of music like electronica, modern minimalism, folk, post-rock, avant-garde or modular music, which also reflect his own versatile musical taste.

“As I stopped thinking in genres, my attempt was to merge my musical taste in the most fluent way possible onto one record. There are mesmerizing songs from some of my favourite contemporary artists – I feel a timelessness in their music, I can ́t get tired of. With the compilation I wanted to create a contemplative, fictitious, surreal world, merging those different styles together. Giving it that title, I wanted the listener to be able to imagine a tale that is building up with each song. I am really happy about the outcome of this compilation and hope that many other listeners can feel the magic.”

The compilation includes the surreal work of Swiss producer Dim Grimm (also known as Dimlite), as well as a collaboration between Merz & Julian Sartorius Drum Ensemble who radically altered the original version of “The Hunting Owl” into a monstrous percussive live version. Taken off the debut album from one of Poland ́s most interesting musicians at the moment, Waclaw Zimpel & Kuba Ziolek, “Wrens” is a fusion of folk, jazz and modern minimal music. Experimental pop musician & filmmaker Tujiko Noriko appears with an emotional piece that challenges the paths between pop and avant-garde. Gerhard Zander, whose musical work started on the outskirts of experimental pop music in the early seventies in Germany, delivers a modular synth masterpiece with unique sounds, textures and a far-out synth choir. Rock and ambient influenced musician Helen Money (also known as Alison Chesley) is a Los Angeles based cellist and composer who appears with a massively dark post-rock song called “MF“, which was recorded at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studio in Chicago in 2009. Often compared to Frank Zappa and known for their richness of ideas, Liverpool’s a.P.A.t.T. contribute the hypnotic “Young Free & Parasite”, with references to British glam, post-punk or synth rock, but in a fresh and obscure sounding outfit. SSELLF, the moniker of New Zealand ́s Christoph El Truento, inspired by post-punk and noise. “Visitors” is simple and simply in your face, with lo- fi drums, distorted synths and raw vocals by Christoph himself. After a few seclusive years, The Reboot Joy Confession returns with a new, crispy and soulful track. Cinematic strings written by Martin Riedler, arranged by Flip Phillip, and recorded at the established Vienna Konzerthaus, based on a properly arranged drum outfit and played by a villain named Gurlimu. Both strings and drums are guiding through the whole song and culminate in Glockenspiel and Rhodes melodies. Oceaneer aka Japanese pianist Oneechan Nanashi completes the compilation with her beautiful and

profound composition “The Sea, Forever”. She describes her music as “improvised instrumental underwater music from the bottom of the Pacific Ocean, played with broken instruments, directed by the spirit of drowned people who are talking through the hands of the pianist. It’s lonely and bleak music for the dead.”

MIMS Premieres

MIMS Premieres

Exclusive tracks from some of our favourite artists & labels.