Future Classics

Future Classic: Atoms For Peace “Default”

Usually we would avoid the word supergroup at all costs, just like we avoid the words “trap remix” in a press release. But hey, when the word supergroup is followed by the name Thom Yorke, then all bets are off.

“Default” is our favorite jam from the new AMOK LP by Atoms for Peace who dropped an absolutely mesmerizing album a couple weeks ago. Yorke just brings that cinematic feel to whatever projects he touches. I think we sometimes take the dude’s genius for granted.

Atoms For Peaceis an experimental rock & electronic supergroup formed in late 2009 in Los Angeles, California. The group consists of Radiohead lead singer Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, and piano), Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich (keyboards, synths), Joey Waronker of Beck & R.E.M. (drums) and Brazilian instrumentalist Mauro Refosco (percussion) of Forro in the Dark. Their debut album, Amok, became available for streaming on February 18, 2013, and was released on February 25, 2013.



Montreal-based DJ and the founder MusicIsMySanctuary.com (2007) and 24 Hours of Vinyl (2011).